Grenoble Institute of Research on Cancer (GIRC)

GIRC is a federative research structure on cancer created in January 2011. Its partners are the Albert Bonniot Institute (IAB), the Grenoble Institute of Neurosciences (GIN), the Institute of Life Sciences Research and Technologies (iRTSV), the TIMC-IMAG laboratory, the Department of Molecular Chemistry (DCM), the Institute of Structural Biology (IBS) and the Research Unit of the University Hospital.

GIRC's strength comes from its strategic location within the cluster of Grenoble as well as the collaboration between its various partners. GIRC benefits from interaction between Life Sciences interfaces and digital sciences on the one hand, and access to large-scale facilities (ESRF, EMBL) and biotechnological platforms on the other hand.


Cancer research is one of the strongest lines of biomedical research at the University of Grenoble 1. The site of Grenoble offers some specificities for cancer research: it is particularly noticeable that it covers the whole continuum of research from studies at the molecular structure level (conducted at the Institute of Structural Biology using the locally implanted European Synchrotron Facility) up to the clinical trials carried out at the University Hospital (CHRG). In between, basic research on several aspects of the mechanisms of carcinogenesis, and pre-clinical studies are run in three institutes (IAB, iRTSV, GIN).

Technological platforms (proteomics, microscopy, high-throughput screening, in vivo imaging) run at IAB, iRTSV, GIN, DCM and IBS are both useful tools for the community and a source of technological improvements. One specificity of the Grenoble campus is the presence of top-level research infrastructures in nanotechnology and it benefits to cancer researchers who actively collaborate with nano-electronicians to develop nanomedical devices or nanobiological applications to cancer diagnostis and treatment.

The overall scientific level of cancer research teams is good, and excellent for some of them with an international recognition of several researchers. IAB for instance is well identified at the national level as a cancer and development institute but the international recognition of the institute has to be ameliorated. International visibility is not a driving objective per se but it is a critical point to improve the scientific level by attracting junior and senior searchers and coordinating international programs to foster the fight against cancer. Owing to the creation of the Regional Canceropole (CLARA), IAB and different research units or structures (GIN, iRTSV) have developed very fruitful collaborations and networks between them and with the nearby cancer research structures of Lyon.

The site of Grenoble offers many strong assets already exploited by the different partners in multidisciplinary projects. To improve the competitiveness of these collaborations we offer to formalize and develop this potential by the creation of a light administrative structure (Federative Research Structure) called GIRC: Grenoble Institute of Research on Cancer.

Grenoble Institut  de Recherche sur le Cancer (GIRC)

Le GIRC est une structure fédérative de recherche sur le cancer crée en janvier 2011. Ses partenaires sont l'Institut Albert Bonniot (IAB), le Grenoble Institut des Neurosciences (GIN), l'Institut de Recherche en Technologies et Sciences pour le Vivant (iRTSV), le laboratoire TIMC-IMAG, le Département de Chimie Moléculaire (DMC), l'Institut de Biologie Structurale (IBS) ainsi que le Pôle Recherche du CHU.

La force du GIRC résulte de son implantation stratégique au sein du pôle grenoblois ainsi que de la synergie entre ses différents partenaires. Le GIRC bénéficie de l'interaction entre les interfaces sciences du vivant et les sciences du numériques d'une part, et l'accès aux grands équipements (ESRF, EMBL) et aux plateformes biotechnologiques d'autre part.

La recherche sur le cancer est un des axes de recherche biomédicale les plus forts de l'université Grenoble 1. Le site de Grenoble propose quelques spécificités pour la recherche sur le cancer :  on peut particulièrement remarquer qu'elle recouvre tout le continuum de la recherche, des études au niveau moléculaire (réalisées à l'Institut de Biologie Structurelle qui se sert de l'European Synchrotron Facility, situé à Grenoble) aux essais cliniques réalisés au CHRU. Parmi cela, des recherches de base sur différents aspects des mécanismes de la cancérogénèse et des études précliniques sont réalisées dans trois instituts (IAB, iRTSV, GIN).

Les plateformes technologiques (protéomique, criblage à haut débit, imagerie in vivo) gérées par l'IAB, l'iRTSV, le GIN, le DCM et l'IBS sont des outils utiles pour la communauté et aussi une source d'amélioration technologique. Une des spécificités du campus de Grenoble est la présence d'établissements de recherche à haut niveau en nanotechnologie, ce qui profite aux chercheurs en cancérologie qui collaborent activement avec des nano-électroniciens pour développer des appareils de nanomédecine ou des applications pour le diagnostic et le traitement des cancers.

Le niveau scientifique global des équipes de recherche en cancer est bon, voire même excellent pour quelques-une avec une reconnaissance internationale pour plusieurs chercheurs. L'IAB, par exemple, est bien reconnu au niveau national comme un institut de cancer et de développement, mais sa reconnaissance internationale doit être améliorée. La reconnaissance internationale n'est pas un objectif moteur en soi, mais il est important d'améliorer le niveau scientifique en attirant de jeunes chercheurs et des directeurs de recherche, et en coordonnant des programmes internationaux pour promouvoir la lutte contre le cancer. En raison de la création du cancéropôle régional (CLARA), l'IAB et les différentes unités ou structures de recherche (GIN, iRTSV) ont développé des collaborations et des réseaux très productifs entre eux et avec des structures de recherche sur le cancer à Lyon.

Le site de Grenoble propose de nombreux atouts déjà exploités par les différents partenaires dans des projets pluridisciplinaires. Pour améliorer la compétitivité de ces collaborations, nous proposons de formaliser et développer ce potentiel en créant une structure administrative légère (structure de recherche fédérative) sous la dénomination de GIRC : Grenoble Institut de Recherche contre le Cancer.